A few weeks ago, a representative from the National Down Syndrome Society contacted me about a company called “Nuby” that wanted to use a photo of Nathan and I for their Ds Awareness campaign.  At first, I was a little reluctant because once Nuby posted this photo, with my quote, on their social network sites, it could be stolen by anyone.  Then I thought that this could already be happening with other photos I have posted, and wouldn’t it be cool to spread the word with a wonderful picture of my beautiful boy?

I consented to let Nuby use our photo and was told that we would be made aware when it was published on their Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter pages.  That day came this past Tuesday, and I was so excited.  I was sent an e-mail with the link to the three pages, and we already had 100 likes on their Facebook page!  It really made me take a step back and realize that my life is not at all what I thought it would be.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, I just think it’s amazing that my son has truly inspired me to be a better person.  A person who advocates for the respect and rights of others.  Who thinks twice about what she says and how her words might be taken.  A person who has come to realize that judging others before you know them is one of the biggest mistakes you can make.  Nathan has opened my eyes to the joy and humor in life that I didn’t see before.  Yes, three years ago I would not have pictured my life being what it is, but I am glad that my life has taken me down this path.

With World Down Syndrome Day coming up on March 21, I am glad that we have become part of another aspect of spreading the word.  Continuing to help people understand that different doesn’t mean bad is one of the most important goals that I have and I don’t intend to stop.  Please check out the links below to see our ad for Nuby and their Ds campaign.

