I can’t believe it’s already January 21, 2013.  I do not know where these last few months have gone, but they have FLOWN by.  This blog has been completely neglected and I apologize.  Lots of things have gone on while I was M.I.A. from updating.  Here is a recap of the last few months with as many pictures as I can patiently wait to download before Nathan has to go to PT.

We spent Thanksgiving with my family this year and had a nice time.  Of course, I neglected to take any pictures, and so I have no proof that we did anything on that day, but I assure you, we did.  Soon after, my grandma in Texas passed away and I headed down there by myself to celebrate her life and spend some time with my family.

After returning from Texas, where it was nice to not have to wear layers of clothing for a change, we made our way into the Christmas season.  Spending Christmas Eve with Erik’s family and Christmas Day with mine is a nice tradition we have been honoring for the past few years.  Unfortunately, this Christmas also brought Nathan a fever that started on Christmas Eve and landed us in the hospital for 8 days.  First, here are the pictures from our Christmas celebration…

After fighting a fever and then congestion during the Christmas week, Nathan had some trouble breathing on the Saturday night after Christmas.  We called his doctor and she recommended we bring him to a place in Mamaroneck that’s open until midnight. Once we arrived there, they determined that he needed to go to Maria Farreri’s Children’s Hospital because of his breathing and virus.  After sitting in the ER (luckily in our own room) for 15 hours, we moved to a room in the “Literature Center”.  Nathan had a parainfluenza virus that they believe induced an asthma-like attack.  He was on oxygen for quite a while, and his numbers ended up dropping almost every night we were there.  That’s what kept us there for so long.  So after many conversations about taking oxygen and a pulse ox meter home, getting a sleep study, etc., we finally left 8 days later.  We were sent home with oxygen and a pulse ox and continued to monitor his progress at night.  Fortunately, the stats got a little better and his own pulmonologist did not think it was necessary for him to be on oxygen.  He truly believed it was the virus and thinks that if he had sleep apnea, we would have known it already by his snoring or breathing during sleep.  I am still going to seek a sleep study to completely rule it out, but it makes me feel better that his doctor does not think that is the issue.

Of course, after we returned home from the hospital, Nathan got a stomach bug THAT NIGHT!!  It was only 24hrs and he was fine very quickly, but it did make it’s way to Erik, which was unfortunate.

Now, we are all healthy and back to our regular schedules.  We are in the process of searching for preschools for Nathan next year and making that transition from EI to school district services.  Nathan is doing well in all of his therapies and learns so much.  His has a lot more signs and is trying to say a lot more words, like uncle and help.  He recently got his new orthotics, which are helping with his standing and walking.  I can’t believe he will be three in May!?!?!

On a side note, Nathan is going to have a cousin in May!!  Carter Paul Smith is due May 20th and we are so excited.  Congratulations to my sister Heather and my brother-in-law Bryan.  Can’t wait to meet that baby!

I hope you are all enjoying your new years and making the best of each and every day!

