I’m going to stop apologizing for skipping days, and swearing I won’t do it again because guess what…..I WILL!  I wish I was the type of blogger who has something to write about on a daily basis, but I just don’t.

Even during Down Syndrome Awareness month, you’d think that I could come up with a topic for every day.  I….just…can’t.

Down syndrome, after 2 and 1/2 years, is just not something that I think about on a constant basis.  I don’t go around spewing facts or constantly looking up research.  I don’t look at Nathan and name all of the characteristics that he has that can be associated with Ds.  After this much time, I don’t obsess about Down syndrome.

This may sound weird to a lot of you, but when your son/daughter is diagnosed (pre or post-natally), it seems to be ALL that you think about.  At least it was for me.  It wasn’t like I was constantly negative about it, or thought it was the end of the world.  But it did change my entire life and I feel like I am a completely different person in some ways.  With all of the “what ifs” that come with this news, there are SO many things you learn along the way.  Wonderful people you meet.  Different experiences that you never thought you’d have.

Yes, Down syndrome can be scary and can feel in the beginning like someone punched you in the stomach.  But this feeling doesn’t last forever.  Your “normal” eventually comes into play and Down syndrome is just something that you occasionally mention or need to discuss.

For Ds Awareness month, one of the main points I want to get across is that Down syndrome is not a death sentence.  If we spread that word and share how wonderful, exciting and special it can be to have a child with Ds, perhaps things would change. Perhaps more people in the world will stop looking at the diagnosis and look at the person.

 

