October is a time to celebrate people with Down syndrome.  This weekend, we did a little celebrating of a wonderful man who overcame some major health issues and is (thankfully!) here with us today.

Pop or Poppy, as he is affectionately called, is one of my favorite people.  I never had a grandfather around when I was growing up and when Erik and I got married, he immediately fulfilled this role for me that I had missed all of my life.  His caring personality and great sense of humor can brighten anyone’s day.  He would do anything for anyone and never seems put out or bothered by it.

Pop is known for his “special” recipes and if you ever eat something he has made, chances are you might find a grape in it.  Or some other ingredient that doesn’t typically belong, but actually does make it taste better!  Except for the bananas in the chutney, that didn’t work so well 🙂

I know this blog is supposed to be about Down syndrome for this month, but I wanted to add this post because I am so glad Pop survived all that he did.  I don’t know what we would have done without him.  He is a very special part of my life and I want him to be around for a long time.

Today we are celebrating Pop!

 

