On to the second week of the blog hop…

This week’s suggested topic deals with people first language.  It’s a topic I’ve discussed on here many times, but I don’t think it ever hurts to repeat.  “Down’s kids” or “Autistic kid” just doesn’t sit right with me, or many other families of a child with special needs.  Just like you see your typical kid as Joey or Maggie, we don’t look at our children and see “Down’s”.  We look at them and see beautiful, kind, adorable, sweet children, just like yours.

So it’s not exactly the most pleasant situation when you come across a person who simply refuses to at least TRY to understand people first language.  I think one of the most awkward conversations for many parents is to try to correct (nicely) those who aren’t used to referring to a child as a CHILD first and foremost. To this day, I still have to decide whether or not I think it’s worth it to correct someone who does not use respectful language when talking about Nathan.  The ones who I’d like to correct the most, but I still can’t bring myself to do it, are in the medical field.  You’d be amazed how many doctors do not know that they should be referring to a person, not their disability or ailment.  Some of them do it completely unintentionally, but some are so inappropriate and refuse to be taught the language of the 21st century, it makes you want to scream.  One of my goals in life is to use my voice and spread the word to the medical community.  Of all people, they should be the most up to date on proper language and be compassionate when speaking to patients.  I don’t want Nathan to grow up and be referred to as the “Down’s kid/man” whenever he goes to the doctor.  I want them to see him as Nathan, plain and simple.

Ok, I think I am done ranting now.  Check out this blog to read more opinions about “Down’s kids” and see some pretty cute pictures!

