I think this may have been the longest time I have gone without posting, and I apologize.  To say the last month has been hectic is a slight understatement.  To say the next month is not going to be just as or even MORE crazy, is also not true.  The end of the school year always seems to signal some type of crazy bell in our lives, and unfortunately this blog seems to be left in the dust.

I ran across another blogger who is holding a blog hop, which basically allows the blog community to learn about/start reading new blogs by sharing them all in one area.  I am hoping this challenge to keep up with the blog hop will allow me to post AT LEAST every week.

This weeks topic (suggested…) is to discuss your connection with disabilities.  I am fairly certain that most of you know our connection with disabilities, but for those of you “hopping” onto my blog for the first time, let me show you…

This is our beautiful son, Nathan, who has Down syndrome.  He just turned two in May and is the light of our lives.  Before we had Nathan, both my husband and I had various connections to people with disabilities, and had our few interactions with many different types of people with disabilities.  However, since Nathan’s birth, we have been immersed into a wonderful community of very special people.  I think that when your child or someone close to you is diagnosed with a disability, this is one thing that most people will encounter.  The connection, especially with social media, is amazing.  I have connected with many moms and dads with children with Down syndrome and have learned and grown from knowing them.

Another thing I have learned since joining this new community is that ALL people have varying types of “disabilities”.  This may sound weird and some may take offense to me telling them they have a disability, but I think it is true.  We ostracize and judge those who are different from us, but in reality, NO ONE is the same.  All of us have our shortcomings, issues and things that we simply cannot do.  We also all have things we excel in and so do those with disabilities.  Someone with a disability, like Down syndrome, may not be able to do quantum physics, but he/she may excel in listening and making someone feel as though they are loved and accepted.  Keeping in mind that all of us are unique individuals and being willing to love and accept all humans, regardless of ability, is a message that needs to be spread far and wide.  Our world would be a much better place if a simple word was adopted as a way of life for all…..acceptance.

 

