Happy World Down Syndrome Day!  I know at the beginning of the month I promised I would post more because of this special day during the month.  Clearly, that did not happen!  So I apologize…

We did have a wonderful WDSD though!  I made all of my faculty and Erik’s crew Down syndrome awareness ribbons.  I handed them out yesterday in mailboxes with a little note about this day attached.  I am SOO excited to say that almost everyone I walked into today (around 100 people throughout the day) had their ribbons on!  Many of them commented on the fact that they were honored to wear it and what a special day this is.  I was also able to make an appearance on our morning homeroom TV show and they showed a cute clip from this video…

I also made a cake to honor WDSD and made some brownies for Erik’s office and Nathan’s babysitters.

We also went to the diner after work to have WDSD dinner.  Here’s Nathan choosing his meal…

Reading all of the posts on Facebook and blog posts throughout the day, it was truly apparent how celebrated this day truly is.  I am blessed to be surrounded by such a special community!  Thank you to all who celebrated with us and honored those with Down syndrome!

