With a lack of sleep last night, I am heading to bed soon but I wanted to do my post before I head for that warm, comfy bed.

I found out today through my BabyCenter group that the blood test for Down syndrome that has been in the works for a while is finally out on the market.  I have to say, it makes me sad to think there is something out there like this now.  It is one of the few non-invasive tests you can do during pregnancy to determine defects, etc.  My question is, why is Down syndrome the first thing they decide to create a new blood test for?  It isn’t a “disease”.  It isn’t a life-threatening condition.  Your family will not “suffer” if your child is born with Down syndrome.

Yes, there are certain medical issues with a diagnosis of Ds, but very rarely are they fatal.  There can be heart issues, which are usually cured with surgery.  Sometimes celiac is more prevalent.  There are definitely things that can be challenging, but none of them, in my opinion, are worth destroying a life to prevent.

I have always been pro-life, even before Nathan.  But now that I have a son that has Down syndrome, with an abortion rate of over 90%, it hits me even harder.  Are our children going to be “extinct” in the future because of blood tests like this?  Doctors already (usually) push for termination when Ds comes into play, and now they will have even more ammo.

It is up to us to spread the word about how wonderful it is to have a child with Ds.  That the diagnosis of Ds is NOT the end of the world.  I realize there will always be those that will terminate regardless of all of the positive information out there, but this blood test just scares me.  I will continue to spread the word and share my beautiful boy with everyone I meet.  I hope those of you reading who do not have a child with Ds will do the same and share positive information when it comes to Down syndrome and what you have learned.

Here is an article about the new blood test for those that are interested…

http://www.businessweek.com/news/2011-10-17/sequenom-to-sell-down-syndrome-test-2-years-after-pullback.html

 

